The Officers assigned to the unit have received extensive training in selective enforcement, New Jersey Motor Vehicle Law, and advanced accident investigation and reconstruction. These officers received training from I.P.T.M., Kean University, and Northwestern University. The officers are called to the scene of serious crashes by the Patrol Division and supervisors who determine that the crash requires the response.

Unit Commander:

Sgt. Frank Melillo

(732) 286-6000 ext. 105

fmelillo@beachwoodpolice.com

Traffic Safety Officer:

Ptl. Dennis Allen

(732) 286-6000 ext. 179

Child safety seat certified installer

Trafficsafety@beachwoodpolice.com

Traffic Safety Officer:

Ptl. David Bowden

(732) 286-6000 ext. 193

Trafficsafety@beachwoodpolice.com

Submit a speeding Complaint

Please Click Here to advise the Beachwood Police Department of routine or excessive speed violations in your neighborhood.
 
  • :
  • :
Close

Beachwood Police Department Motor Vehicle Crash report Copy instructions:

The Officer who responded to your crash will complete a report and submit to the Traffic Safety Unit for review, this process takes (7) Seven Business days. After the (7) Seven days a report can be picked up at the Police Station 1600 Pinewald road, Beachwood NJ 08722 at the Police Window inside the lobby. If you would like to call and insure the report is ready you can call (732) 286-6000 ext. 100. There is a fee of .5 (five) cents per page that will have to paid before the report is copied and released.

When you are involved in a Motor vehicle crash:

  1. Call 911 immediately and check for injuries.
  2. Remain with your vehicle at the scene.
  3. Don’t stand in the roadway if at all possible.
  4. Gather your Driver’s License, registration, and Insurance card.
  5. Remain Calm and DO NOT argue with the other driver’s
  6. Advise the Officer(s) who respond if you are injured.
  7. It is not necessary to exchange information at the scene of the crash because the officer will gather all of the needed information to complete the report.

New Jersey Graduated Drivers License Information

Special learners permit driving restrictions

  • Display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back); decals available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair
  • No driving after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • You must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years driving experience
  • Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers. A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings
  • Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
  • You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
  • Seat belts must be worn at all times

Examination permit restrictions

  • You must be at least 17 years old and not in suspension status
  • Display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back); decals available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair
  • No driving after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m.
  • You must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years driving experience
  • Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers. A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings
  • Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
  • If you are at least 21 years old, there are no passenger or hour restrictions
  • You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
  • Seatbelts must be worn at all times

Probationary driver license restrictions

  • Display a reflectorized decal on each license plate (front/back); decals available at motor vehicle agencies, $4 per pair
  • No driving after 11:01 p.m. and before 5:00 a.m. See GDL Exemptions for exceptions due to employment or religious reasons
  • Parent(s), guardian(s) or dependant(s) are allowed as passengers. A dependant is a permit or probationary driver’s child, not siblings
  • Only one additional passenger is allowed unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
  • You can’t use cell phones, hand held video games or any other hands-free interactive, wireless communication device
  • Seat belts must be worn at all times

GDL Exemptions 

  • Permit and probationary drivers under 21 are eligible for hours-related exemptions for employment or religious reasons
  • Drivers must carry legible documentation on letterhead signed by the employer, organization or religious institution stating the reasons for this request
  • Include signature, title, address and telephone number of designated official

Beachwood Police Traffic Safety Crashes Investigations

When the Traffic Safety Unit responds to the scene of a crash the very first thing they will do is gather information from the first responding officers. The Unit will conduct an investigation that can sometimes take several months depending on the severity and surrounding circumstances. Determining the cause of crashes is not an easy task and requires skill and dedication to the unit. The Traffic Officers will interview witnesses and gather evidence at the scene. On some cases the Traffic Officers will employ the assistance from the Ocean County Sheriff’s Office, Crime Scene Investigation (C.S.I.) unit for the collection of evidence. The evidence is then sent to the lab for analyzing and secured for court if necessary.

It is important to be mindful of the time needed to conduct a proper and complete investigation. The investigator assigned to the crash will be informative and will keep all parties involved updated during the investigation. In the tragic event of a death the Traffic investigators will be respectful and keep the information as confidential as possible. The Beachwood Police Department takes great pride in this unit and makes training a priority within this unit as well as the training to each of the units within the agency.

carintohouse

Beachwood Police Traffic Safety

One of our highest priorities is to ensure the safety of all those who use roadways in Beachwood. As we see it, our job is to make the roadways safer by reducing injuries, property damage, and the loss of life caused by motor vehicle crashes, by:

Enforcing the Vehicle and Traffic Law and other regulations;
Compiling, analyzing, and sharing data on accident causes; and
Providing education on safe driving to schools, civic organizations and other governmental groups.

Special attention is directed at state, county and local controlled access roads for which the Beachwood Police has primary responsibility, and dedicated patrols.  Police Officers on patrol and Traffic safety Officers enforce the Vehicle & Traffic Law, investigate motor vehicle crashes, assist disabled motorists, and provide many other professional services.

This commitment is supported by an aggressive traffic safety program that works to save lives, reduce injuries, and save state residents millions of dollars otherwise expended as a result of crashes.

The Beachwood Police ensures our roadways are safe and that traffic flows efficiently by employing activities such as:

Sobriety checkpoints & MVC checkpoints

DWI, underage drinking, and speed saturation patrols

Dedicated enforcement patrols

Radar posts & radar Patrols

Site Triangle inspections

Each year, the Traffic Safety Unit develops a comprehensive Traffic Safety Plan focusing on enforcement and education. The activities included in the plan address the three primary causes of crashes and fatalities – excessive speed, driving while intoxicated (DWI), and failure to use seat belts or child safety restraints. The plan also provides for the specialized training and equipment given to our officers to carry out these efforts in cooperation with our Command staff.

Child Car Seat Information

Child Seat Inspections

The Beachwood Police Department is proud to offer free of charge Child Seat Inspections to any parent, grandparent or caregiver who resides in Beachwood. If you wish to have your seat inspected, contact Traffic Officer Dennis Allen (732) 286-6000 ext. 179 or by email @ Trafficsafety@beachwoodpolice.com.

 

Please make an appointment before you come to the department because the Officers are actively patrolling and may not be available for the inspection at that time. Please make sure your child is well fed and rested, a inspection can take anywhere from a few minutes to one half hour depending on the seat you purchased.

 

PLEASE REMEMBER THE BEACHWOOD POLICE DEPARTMENT OFFCERS FREE INSPECTIONS, NOT INSTALLATIONS. YOU ARE EXPECTED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE FULL INSTALLATION AND ARE ULTIMATELY RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR CHILD, THE CAR SEAT, AND ITS PROPER USE. 

For Mothers or Fathers, have your seat installed and ready to go at least two weeks before your due date or scheduled C-section date. It’s important that every child is secured properly at all times while in a motor vehicle.    

Children under 8 years of age who weigh less than 80 pounds are to be secured properly to ride in a child safety seat or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there is no rear seat, the child may sit in the front seat, but s/he must be secured by a child safety seat or booster seat.

 

(Note: A rear-facing infant seat should never be placed in a front seat with a passenger-side airbag unless the vehicle is equipped with an air bag on/off switch.

Types of Child Seats

Rear Facing Seats:

For the best possible protection, keep infants in the back seat, in rear-facing child safety seats, up to the maximum height or weight limit mandated by the child safety seat manufacturer (this information can be found on a label affixed to the seat and in the seat owner’s manual). Parents should keep infants rear-facing until s/he is at least one year of age and 20 pounds.

Forward Facing Seats:

When children out grow their rear-facing seats (at a minimum age of one and at least 20 pounds), they should ride in forward-facing, child safety seats in the back seat, up to the maximum height or weight limit mandated by the child safety seat manufacturer (this information can be found on a label affixed to the seat and in the seat owner’s manual), which is usually no younger than age 4 and when they weigh at least 40 pounds.

Booster Seats:

Once children outgrow their forward-facing seats (usually no younger than age 4 and when they weigh at least 40 pounds), they should ride in a booster seat, in the back seat, until the vehicle seat belts fit properly. Seat belts fit properly when the lap belt lays across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt fits across the chest (usually at age 8 or when they are 4’9” tall).

Seat Belts:

When children outgrow their booster seats, (usually at age 8 or when they are 4’9” tall), they can use the adult seat belt in the back seat, if it fits properly (when the lap belt lays across the upper thighs and the shoulder belt fits across the chest). Adults should set a good example for children by buckling up, every ride, whether they are riding in a front or rear seat.

New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law

New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law: (NJS 39:3-76.2f)

Applies to all passenger vehicles including vans, pickup trucks and SUV’s, that are required to be equipped with seat belts.

Applies to all passengers, who are at least 8 years of age but less than 18 years of age, and each driver and front seat passenger of a passenger automobile, operated on a street or highway. All of these occupants are required to wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat belt system.

On January 18, 2010, legislation was signed into law requiring all occupants to buckle up, regardless of their seating position in a vehicle. A secondary offense, the new law allows police to issue summonses to unbuckled back seat occupants, 18 years of age and older, when the vehicle they are riding in is stopped for another violation. The law is effective immediately.

Makes the driver responsible for proper seat belt use by all occupants who are under the age of 18.

Child Seat Inspections

Resources:

Recalls on child seats:

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/recalls/childseat.cfm

or

National Highway Traffic safety Administration.

1-888-327-4236

The University of North Carolina Highway Safety Research Center.   ( 1-800-672-4527 )

American Association of Pediatrics.

www.aap.org/family/carseatguide.htm